I am The Keeper of the Naps

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our favorite Babysitter

 

So, night time sleep has gotten much better. Apparently naps are a big deal. I learned about max wake times, and maximizing sleep from babycenter… I’ve been reading Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child and my personal favorite, The Wonder Weeks. We track his night sleep on babybix.com. Am I an expert? Hell, no. But do I have realistic expectations for sleep? Absolutely. I feel like Gollum and naps are “my precious.” It’s kind of ridiculous. What else is ridiculous? How loud my neighbors apparently are. Please stop yelling at everyone across the street. How thin my windows are! I can hear my neighbors shoveling the walk. Needless to say, I get a little paranoid when I hear a noise outside or adjacent to baby A’s bedroom. So, we bought a white noise machine and loop airplane sounds on an mp3 player.

Here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. Sleeping through the night (STTN) really only means that your baby can sleep a stretch of 5 hours.
  2. Breastfed babies wake more frequently than formula fed (sometimes every 1-2 hours).
  3. Babies wake more frequently when they are going through growth spurts or developmental leaps.
  4. Wonder weeks are mental leaps that are age-linked and predictable. Right before baby learns a new skill like rolling over or recognizing patterns, they tend to get clingy, cranky, and cry more often. (Right now Baby A is going through wonder week 19 (mental leap 4 – The World of Events).
  5. Most babies younger than 4 months need about 11 hours of night sleep and 15.5 hours of sleep within a 24 hour period.
  6. Overtiredness is a bitch and may be the reason your kid naps for 20 minutes or seems wired and alert at 1am!
  7. Sometimes, babies fight you when you try to put them down because they might be ready to put themselves down. (That is my child. He fights me and then I put him down and he talks himself to sleep).
  8. Apparently, I am an awful parent because the internet suggest putting your baby down, swaddled, and without rocking from day one so that they LOVE sleeping in their crib.
  9. Pacifiers, boobs, swings, swaddles, whitenoise, etc. are all sleep crutches.
  10. Finally… parents will do whatever the heck they need to do give the house a good night’s sleep.
2 thoughts on “I am The Keeper of the Naps

    • Thank you May. We’re trying our best. The first month was a little rough but we are starting to get the hang of this parenting gig. lol Plus, once they learn how to give you their little toothless smile, it is so worth it.

Leave a Reply

