Cry Baby Cry

I want to involve my husband in the caring of our baby. I don’t want to be one of those moms who nitpicks everything her husband does. But my God… bedtime is a battle every. single. night.

Honestly, I’m starting to think baby A hates my husband. And to make matters worse, my husband has decided to take over bedtime routines since I’m with the baby all day. We thought it would be a great way to bond with baby since he is at work all day and only gets to spend time with him an hour or so before bedtime. Well, it’s not working! At what point should I intervene? At what point does crying become “cry it out”?… Marriage and parenting is a delicate balance of humility and pride. A large part of me wants to burst in and grab my little one and calm him down but I know that will destroy my husband’s pride. Ref, put me in the game! urggh… nighttime sucks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

angry baby face

UPDATE: Looking back, I believe that this post was written during a wonder week. I think it was wonder week 8, but who knows, in the beginning they all run together. My husband is now the wizard of putting our son down. It’s amazing. In fact, I’m a little jealous at how well he can do it because he is now waaaay better than I am. lol Nights have gotten so much better now that we make sure that he gets all of his naps, I’ve stopped nursing him to sleep (what was I thinking?!), and is in bed at a reasonable time. No more keeping the baby up for guests and letting him hang out with us on the couch. Hallelujah, we’re all sleeping… better 🙂

Leave a Reply

