Babies and Marriages

Baby A is here!!! I was due Sept. 25 and like clockwork, went into labor on the 25th and had him the next morning. More on that later.

Just know that, whoever said having a baby is like throwing a hand grenade into your marriage wasn’t lying! Sometimes I cannot stand my husband. Other times, I am so in love with him for leaping into new territory with me. But seriously, if he asks me anything after 6:30pm, my patience is nil. lol

I promise I will write more, because everyone says that they are “the best of times. These are the worst of times.” However, I want to include this quote from Kristen Bell, that pretty accurately summarizes my experience with baby A.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first baby falling asleep on my lap.

On her worries about becoming a mother: “I kept saying to Dax in all sincerity during my pregnancy, ‘I just don’t know how I’m going to like her as much as I like the dogs.’ I was being serious. Because I f–king love my dogs; they are my children. I love people the more i know them, and I didn’t know her. It could’ve been a water bottle in my belly, that’s about how connected I felt to her during my pregnancy. But within about 24 hours after she came out, my hormones reset, and they reprogrammed my feelings about her.”

The main things I’ve learned and the consensus I have gotten from my mom friends are this: Whatever you do, keep communicating with your spouse… even if that communication includes some cuss words. For better or for worse is what you and your partner trained for right? Well, these are “the best of times AND the worst of times.” Remember that the first 3 months are HARD so its ok if you stop dating. In fact, don’t even talk about the status of your relationship during this time. You’re in a tornado babe, just survive! Motherhood is something you progressively grow into, much like maternity jeans 🙂 so it’s ok if you feel out of sorts. The days may feel long, but you will look back several times and be amazed at how much time has passed!

Leave a Reply

